Commons

Upload images to wikimedia.org

Images you upload via the app are added to Wikimedia Commons, a repository of freely-licensed media used to illustrate Wikipedia and its sister projects. By uploading your photos, you can help further the goal of spreading free knowledge around the world.

The Wikimedia Commons app is created and maintained by grantees and volunteers of the Wikimedia community to allow the Wikimedia community to contribute content to Wikimedia Commons. Wikimedia Commons, along with the other Wikimedia projects, is hosted by the Wikimedia Foundation.

Features:

  • Upload photos to Commons directly from your smartphone
  • Categorize your photos to make them easier for other people to find
  • Categories are automatically suggested based on photo location data and title
  • View nearby missing images - this helps Wikipedia to have images for all articles, and you will discover beautiful places close to you
  • View all the contributions you have made to Commons in one gallery

Packages

Although APK downloads are available below to give you the choice, you should be aware that by installing that way you will not receive update notifications and it's a less secure way to download. We recommend that you install the F-Droid client and use that.

Download F-Droid
  • Version 2.11.0 (475) - Added on 2019-08-13

    This version requires Android 4.4 or newer.

    It is built and signed by F-Droid, and guaranteed to correspond to this source tarball.

    Permissions
    • have full network access
      Allows the app to create network sockets and use custom network protocols. The browser and other applications provide means to send data to the internet, so this permission is not required to send data to the internet.
    • read the contents of your shared storage
      Allows the app to read the contents of your shared storage.
    • read sync settings
      Allows the app to read the sync settings for an account. For example, this can determine whether the People app is synced with an account.
    • read sync statistics
      Allows an app to read the sync stats for an account, including the history of sync events and how much data is synced.
    • reorder running apps
      Allows the app to move tasks to the foreground and background. The app may do this without your input.
    • toggle sync on and off
      Allows an app to modify the sync settings for an account. For example, this can be used to enable sync of the People app with an account.
    • modify or delete the contents of your shared storage
      Allows the app to write the contents of your shared storage.
    • access precise location only in the foreground
      This app can get your exact location only when it is in the foreground. These location services must be turned on and available on your phone for the app to be able to use them. This may increase battery consumption.
    • find accounts on the device
      Allows the app to get the list of accounts known by the phone. This may include any accounts created by applications you have installed.
    • com.google.android.apps.photos.permission.GOOGLE_PHOTOS
    • set wallpaper
      Allows the app to set the system wallpaper.
    • view network connections
      Allows the app to view information about network connections such as which networks exist and are connected.
    • view Wi-Fi connections
      Allows the app to view information about Wi-Fi networking, such as whether Wi-Fi is enabled and name of connected Wi-Fi devices.

    Download APK 14 MiB PGP Signature

  • Version 2.10.2 (243) - Added on 2019-03-01

    This version requires Android ? or newer.

    It is built and signed by F-Droid, and guaranteed to correspond to this source tarball.

    Permissions
    • have full network access
      Allows the app to create network sockets and use custom network protocols. The browser and other applications provide means to send data to the internet, so this permission is not required to send data to the internet.
    • read the contents of your shared storage
      Allows the app to read the contents of your shared storage.
    • read sync settings
      Allows the app to read the sync settings for an account. For example, this can determine whether the People app is synced with an account.
    • read sync statistics
      Allows an app to read the sync stats for an account, including the history of sync events and how much data is synced.
    • reorder running apps
      Allows the app to move tasks to the foreground and background. The app may do this without your input.
    • toggle sync on and off
      Allows an app to modify the sync settings for an account. For example, this can be used to enable sync of the People app with an account.
    • modify or delete the contents of your shared storage
      Allows the app to write the contents of your shared storage.
    • access precise location only in the foreground
      This app can get your exact location only when it is in the foreground. These location services must be turned on and available on your phone for the app to be able to use them. This may increase battery consumption.
    • find accounts on the device
      Allows the app to get the list of accounts known by the phone. This may include any accounts created by applications you have installed.
    • com.google.android.apps.photos.permission.GOOGLE_PHOTOS
    • set wallpaper
      Allows the app to set the system wallpaper.
    • view network connections
      Allows the app to view information about network connections such as which networks exist and are connected.
    • view Wi-Fi connections
      Allows the app to view information about Wi-Fi networking, such as whether Wi-Fi is enabled and name of connected Wi-Fi devices.

    Download APK 14 MiB PGP Signature

  • Version 2.10.1 (226) - Added on 2019-02-22

    This version requires Android ? or newer.

    It is built and signed by F-Droid, and guaranteed to correspond to this source tarball.

    Permissions
    • have full network access
      Allows the app to create network sockets and use custom network protocols. The browser and other applications provide means to send data to the internet, so this permission is not required to send data to the internet.
    • read the contents of your shared storage
      Allows the app to read the contents of your shared storage.
    • read sync settings
      Allows the app to read the sync settings for an account. For example, this can determine whether the People app is synced with an account.
    • read sync statistics
      Allows an app to read the sync stats for an account, including the history of sync events and how much data is synced.
    • reorder running apps
      Allows the app to move tasks to the foreground and background. The app may do this without your input.
    • toggle sync on and off
      Allows an app to modify the sync settings for an account. For example, this can be used to enable sync of the People app with an account.
    • modify or delete the contents of your shared storage
      Allows the app to write the contents of your shared storage.
    • access precise location only in the foreground
      This app can get your exact location only when it is in the foreground. These location services must be turned on and available on your phone for the app to be able to use them. This may increase battery consumption.
    • find accounts on the device
      Allows the app to get the list of accounts known by the phone. This may include any accounts created by applications you have installed.
    • com.google.android.apps.photos.permission.GOOGLE_PHOTOS
    • set wallpaper
      Allows the app to set the system wallpaper.
    • view network connections
      Allows the app to view information about network connections such as which networks exist and are connected.
    • view Wi-Fi connections
      Allows the app to view information about Wi-Fi networking, such as whether Wi-Fi is enabled and name of connected Wi-Fi devices.

    Download APK 14 MiB PGP Signature